November 1 is a state formation day for 5 states

States formation day

November 1 is a state formation day for five states They are Karnataka, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Haryana.

Here is a brief history of the 5 states and their formation day.

Kerala Piravi:

Kerala Piravi marks the birth of the state of Kerala in India. The state of Kerala was created on November 1, 1956. Kerala, the southernmost state of India, was formed long after Indian independence on 15 August 1947. Prior to that date it was three independent provinces named Malabar, Cochin and Travancore. Kerala originally got its name after the first ruler, Keralian Thamboran, who ruled one of these independent provinces earlier in the millennia.

Karnataka Rajyotsava:

Karnataka Rajyotsava or Karnataka Formation Day is celebrated on 1 November of every year. This was the day in 1956 when all the Kannada language-speaking regions of South India were merged to form the state of Karnataka the Rajyotsava day is listed as a government holiday in the state of Karnataka and is celebrated by Kannadigas across the erstwhile princely state which formed the core of the new entity.[7] But the people of North Karnataka did not favour the retention of the name Mysore, as it was closely associated with the erstwhile principality and the southern areas of the new state. In deference to this logic, the name of the state was changed to “Karnataka” on 1 November 1973.It is marked by the announcement and presentation of the honours list for Rajyotsava Awards by the Government of Karnataka, hoisting of the official Karnataka flag with an address from the Chief Minister and Governor of the state along with community festivals, orchestra, Kannada book releases and concerts.

Chhattisgarh: 1 November 2000 the state Chhattisgarh has formed by partitioning 16 Chhattisgarh-speaking south eastern districts of Madhya Pradesh. Chhattisgarh, which in ancient times was known as Dakshina Kosala (South Kosala), during the time of the Maratha Empire and was first used in an official document in1795. Currently the state comprises 27 districts.

Madhya Pradesh:

The state Madhya Pradesh formed on November 1, 1956. The state evolved out of the princely state of Bhopal and was merged with neighbouring states to form Madhya Pradesh in 1956. It combined the earlier states of Madhya Bharat and became a one massive state with Vindhya Pradesh and Bhopal at the geographical centre of India. It is also one of the largest and most populous of Indian states, the history and culture of this state is a huge part of India’s own identity. Madhya Pradesh is also called the Heart of India at the simply for its geographical centre of India.


On linguistic basis the state Haryana which is situated in North India was carved out of the former state of east Punjab on 1 November 1966. The city of Chandigarh is its capital while the national capital Region city of Faridabad is most populous city. The state and the city of Gurugram is financial hub if NCR with major Fortune 500 companies located in it.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here